Practice Portraits

I guess that the best way to test an affordable and non familiar lens would be to just make it happen. Friends and family are always willing to help out, so little King here will make a great subject. Dressed up in his wee Woody Halloween costume, we set up a spot on the floor and went to it. I figured that with natural sunlight, and indoor lighting would help brighten up the pictures, and that with some post editing, I could really nail what I was wanting to see.

Now! Maybe it’s just this lens, but I find that I have to have plenty of distance from my subject in order to get more in the frame. I don’t know how much I like this, since I always thought that being nearer to the subject would help set the mood for the shot. I’ve yet to find videos that would specifically cover the studio set up according to the lens, but If this is how it’s done, then this is how it’s done.

Over all, the pictures worked out, even with a squirmy little fellow like King, and a budget full manual lens like the Rokinon 85MM 1.4. I should invest in lights, and in backdrops in future, but since I’m still learning I think we were able to work with what was already there. How fun! 

King Woody!
King Woody!
King Woody!
King Woody!
